The Body Suffers…

Conditions finally arrived which allowed me to spend an entire day in the garden. I felt it was a little like Dolly Parton’s “Working Nine to Five” but it was “Ten to Six” in my case.

A few hydrangeas still remained for pruning, a light but time-consuming job as it is quite fiddly taking all the old flowerheads from a large plant and there was a stuffed wheelbarrow of twigs and branches which will have to be shredded on another day.

This bed,on the right is mainly planted with hydrangeas with a very few other shrubs – the Magnolia stellata ‘Centennial’ in flower at the moment and a large Fuchsia ‘Lady Bacon’ which flowers later in the year. All the hydrangeas have been pruned, a slow job and I’m glad it’s finished. The bed I was working on is parallel and to the right of the hydrangea bed.

I did a general tidy-up of a largish bed, removing the debris of winter, fallen leaves which may have been attractive in autumn now simply looked dead and gave the bed an overall untidy look. It seems odd, I suppose to remove this material – three wheelbarro loads – to bring it to the compost heap and replace it with a layer of new compost from the heap when I might have just left it in place to rot down naturally, all to give an appearance of tidiness.

Two views of my work area yesterday, one from the front gate and the other looking back in that direction.

This bed has three large clumps of Watsonia ‘Mount Congreve Coral’, one I had some years back from a local nurseryman and which originated in Mount Congreve Gardens which are local to us. It has always done well here, indeed too well, as it bulks up very quickly to form dense clumps and even seeds about generously/annoyingly though the Head Gardener contests that the seedlings I identify and remove as this watsonia may be a gladiolus, Gladiolus byzantinus, which also seeds about a little too much. Whichever one it is, it is best removed as soon as spotted. Unfortunately, these clumps of watsonias grow among the roots of an old birch tree and removing them is hugely challenging. I removed one clump yesterday and must face the other two, perhaps today if weather permits.

One of the clumps of Watsonia ‘Mount Congreve Coral’ which have overstayed their welcome in the garden. They are simply too vigorous and the foliage is almost always a mess and a bother to cut down and remove. I have removed two similar cluimps further down the bed but feel this one will be more difficult as the bulbs are among the roots of the large birch tree you can see at the right of this photograph.

At the end of the day I was happy with progress, the first bout of serious effort in the garden this year and my poor body which had become used to a life of idleness now tells me that I had indeed put in a good day’s work.

Below, a few photographs from the garden this afternoon – after another long day in the garden. Tomorrow is forecast to be very wet with a yellow weather warning for heavy rain with flooding possible so it was well to spend the time available to us working in the garden:

18 thoughts on “The Body Suffers…

    1. I have snatched hours here and there over the winter but it was good to get a full day – two, as it turned out – but today we return to heavy rain with a threat of flooding!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. i always prune my hydrangeas too, but i always wonder what they would look like if i simply let them be? … cause in the wild, there would be no one to deadhead them, and i’m almost certain they’d still have their glory! perhaps one day i will try.

    your garden is really looking nice! you seem to be about one month ahead of where i’m at (midwest, USA). YAY for spring ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think it’s worth the effort of pruning them though it is a fiddly job. I also take out some of the old stems from each plant which promotes younger growth.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Our workman echoes your point about clearing the beds then putting down new compost…what, he asks, is the point? Mainly, in my view, because if I don’t insist the garden will be an expanse of dead palm fronds interspersed with twigs and a few plants popping up through the debris.
    He has no problem with clearing debris from round the sugar cane….that, after all, is edible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The larger magnolias, which is in the last photograph, is planted about 35 years but was brought from a previous garden so it about 40 years old. The smaller one was planted 15 years ago – but it is also smaller by nature

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a joy to see it Paddy – I expect your body just needs ‘tuning’ at the beginning of the season. But what a glorious garden. I wish I lived closer, would so love to visit. I have to say that having Watsonia as a ‘problem’ plant in the garden will be quite funny (not to say jealousy-provoking) to some of us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just to annoy you – I have put three large sacks, large compost bags, of watsonia bulbs into the rubbish bin. I wouldn’t risk putting them into the compost bin as they would surely survive and I would simply spread them throughout the garden.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment